GB · newscientist.com

The UK's nuclear waste and the geological solution | your free invitation to join the debate

This email was sent

Is this your brand on Milled? Claim it.

Wednesday 23 February | 6pm GMT | 1pm EST and on-demand
WEDNESDAY 23 FEBRUARY | 6-7 pm GMT | 1-2pm EST | ON-DEMAND 
The UK Government has decided that higher activity nuclear waste should be disposed of in a deep underground facility where scientists believe it can remain safe for the long term. Numerous countries have come to the same conclusion and work has already begun to create safe, secure and permanent disposal facilities elsewhere in the world.  
GET YOUR FREE TICKET
This New Scientist debate brings together leading thinkers to explore the science behind the geological disposal of nuclear waste, examine the engineering, economic and social challenges at play and asks how similar projects elsewhere are faring. 
MEET OUR EXPERT SPEAKERS 
Katherine Morris
BNFL Research Chair
University of Manchester
Vesa Lakaniemi
Mayor of Eurajoki
Finland
Professor Penny Harvey
Professor of Social Anthropology
University of Manchester
Professor Cherry Tweed
Chief Scientific Advisor
Radioactive Waste Management
GET YOUR FREE TICKET
Sponsored by     
 
 
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
This email has been sent to -

UNSUBSCRIBE from the New Scientist Events emails
 

MANAGE YOUR ACCOUNT to select which emails you receive

PRIVACY POLICY
CONTACT US
 
Disclaimer

This message is intended only for the use of the person(s) ("Intended Recipient") to whom it is addressed. It may contain information which is privileged and confidential. Accordingly any dissemination, distribution, copying or other use of this message or any of its content by any person other than the Intended Recipient may constitute a breach of civil or criminal law and is strictly prohibited. If you are not the Intended Recipient, please contact the sender as soon as possible.
 
We and our third party service providers may use cookies and other web technologies in conjunction with this email. These technologies are used to understand activity with this email and on certain portions of our website. This enables us to improve our site, your experience on our site, and the offerings that we may provide to you. If you do not want these technologies placed on your device, please opt-out of receiving emails from us.

Copyright New Scientist

Registered Office: New Scientist, Northcliffe House, 2 Derry Street, Kensington, London, W8 5TT
Registered in England under Company No. 10644366
Australian mailing address: PO Box 2315, Strawberry Hills, NSW 2012, Australia
Registered in Australia under ABN 22 621 413 170

Recent emails from New Scientist See more