Troy Lee Designs

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Leads Points After A3 - February 3, 2014

Email sent: Feb 3, 2014 6:13 am

February 3, 2014 - Corona, CA

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Leads Points After A3

AMA Supercross - Anaheim, CA

Cole Seely
Cole Seely
Shane McElrath
Shane McElrath
Malcolm Stewart
Malcolm Stewart
Jessy Nelson
Jessy Nelson
Cole Seely
Cole Seely
Shane McElrath
Shane McElrath
Malcolm Stewart
Malcolm Stewart
Jessy Nelson
Jessy Nelson
After five races, three of them in Angel's Stadium in Anaheim, Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda rider Cole Seely is back in the points lead and going into the San Diego round with the coveted red plate. All four of the team's riders were once again inside the top ten in the A3 main event.

The first heat race didn't go as planned, as Seely went down in turn one and had to charge back up to second while Shane McElrath went down on the opening lap and had to hustle to get himself into sixth. Troy Lee Designs / MavTV rider Malcolm Stewart, on the other hand, shot to the front of his heat and scored another win. Jessy Nelson got a good start and rode well to easily qualify into the final.

The main event was a rollercoaster for anybody watching the team riders. Cole Seely pulled one of his patented holeshots and opened a small gap on the rest of the field. Cole was back to his smooth self and looked to have things in control, until he lost his front end exiting the whoops and slid out. The crash relegated him to second and allowed another win to slip from his fingers. Still, second is good points and consistency is what wins championships. Jessy Nelson, Cole's Lucas Oil teammate, got off to a mid-pack start and rode smart and steady to a ninth place finish.

Malcolm Stewart was looking good to put his Troy Lee Designs / MavTV / Honda on the podium once again after his heat race win. He ran towards the front in the main event, but didn't have the speed to land on the podium again. Malcolm would finish sixth on the night. His MavTV teammate Shane McElrath once again rode solid and posted an eighth place finish. While Shane has yet to find the podium, he is learning the game of supercross more and more each weekend. It's only a matter of time before he combines a good start with the experience he has been picking up week in and week out.

This weekend the team makes one last stop in southern California before the series heads East. Round six takes place this Saturday night in Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego. If you are going to the race, be sure to come by and meet the team. And don't forget to cheer the TLD riders on to another successful weekend.

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, Fender®, Pro Tork, MavTV, Method Race Wheels, GoPro, Fasthouse, Pixelmags, Horizon Hobby, FMF Racing, Dunlop, VP Racing Fuels, Showa, Alpinestars, ODI, Pacific Collision Centers, New Era, Specialized, Sram, Renthal, Twin Air, Braking, McQueen Racing, Cyrca, Sol Republic, Hinson, Shock Doctor, ARC, Carillo, Sports Care Center, Samco, Xtrig, VQ Orthocare, Vortex, Kryptonight, Kasey Kahne, Dirt Star, Moto Tassinari, DID, Dirt Star, N-Style.

Video: Supercross Live! On the Podium - Cole Seely
Photo Gallery: Anaheim 3 SX 2014 (Photos: Cudby)

Race Results:

250 Heat 1
1. Malcolm Stewart

2. Jason Anderson
3. Cole Seely

4. Valentin Teillet

5. Dean Ferris
6. Shane McElrath

7. Jake Canada

8. Brandon Scharer

9. Scott Champion

250 Heat 2

1. Dean Wilson

2. Cooper Webb
3. Jessy Nelson

4. Dakota Tedder

5. Justin Hill

6. Shawn Rhinehart

7. Topher Ingalls

8. Preston Mull

9. Brandon Rangel

250 Main Event

1. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)
2. Cole Seely (Honda)

3. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)

4. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)

5. Jason Anderson (KTM)
6. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)

7. Jake Canada (Honda)
8. Shane McElrath (Honda)

9. Jessy Nelson (Honda)

10. Dakota Tedder (Kawasaki)

11. Dean Ferris (KTM)

12. Scott Champion (Yamaha)

13. Topher Ingalls (Honda)

14. Preston Mull (Yamaha)

15. Valentin Teillet (Kawasaki)

16. Brandon Scharer (Suzuki)

17. Chris Howell (Yamaha)

18. Shawn Rhinehart (Suzuki)

19. Jean Marrone (Suzuki)

20. Joseph Dalzell (Kawasaki)

21. Brandon Rangel (Honda)

22. Conner Elliott (Honda)

250 Western Regional SX Points Standings

1. Jason Anderson 109
2. Cole Seely 109

3. Dean Wilson 97

4. Cooper Webb 85

5. Justin Hill 82

6. Zach Osborne 69
7. Malcolm Stewart 69

8. Jessy Nelson 61

9. Shane McElrath 55

10. Dean Ferris 52

Media Contact:

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram App Store

Forward email

This email was sent to by |  

Troy Lee Designs | 155 E. Rincon St. | Corona | CA | 92879

Other emails from Troy Lee Designs

Jan 16, 2017
AIR Helmets up to 50% off with FREE shipping!
Jan 15, 2017
McElrath Makes It Two-In-A-Row for Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM in San Diego
Jan 15, 2017
TLD’s Seely Improves On Opening Round Result To Finish In Top 5
Jan 13, 2017
Limited Edition GP Liberty Gear Available Now
Jan 9, 2017
SE3 Helmets up to 50% off with FREE shipping!
Jan 8, 2017
TLD’s Seely Puts In Solid Effort At Supercross Season Opener